Startseite > Next Generation Sync Client, Office 2013, Office 2016, Office Online, Office365, OneDrive, OneDrive for Business > OneDrive Files On-Demand | Office 2016 and Copy (Move)

OneDrive Files On-Demand | Office 2016 and Copy (Move)


If you open the settings of the Next Generation Sync Client you will find a section “Office”. You may switch it on, if you want to coauthor with Office 2016 (2013) programs like Excel, Word and PowerPoint. In the past, the coauthor feature was only available in Office Online, where you have to work with Office Online inside of a web browser.

But you also may work with the native apps. But back to the settings:

If You say yes:  “Use 2016 to sync Office files”, another dialog will open, to handle the sync conflicts. You may change these settings only if you have Office installed.

Next Generation Sync Client: Settings - Office Tab Let me Choose to merge changes

This should be the standard settings. Only if a sync conflict will occur, you should be asked, what will happen with the file.

But the next option is activated.

Next Generation Sync Client: Settings - Office Tab Always keep both Copies

If you use these settings, both versions will be kept.

Even if you have not select, that Office 2016 will handle syncing, it could be happen, that you will be have a look of the second part.  Do activate “Use Office 2016 to sync Office files” , to see the second part, maybe change the second part and after that, deselect the option.

General the Option “Use Office 2016 to sync Office files” has different behavior.
The following things were tested with Windows 10, Version 1709 and Office 2016, and you have a folder in OneDrive for Business, that is only in the cloud (and not synced to this device).

attempt 1 Word

NGSC settings Office: no activated
Word: save a document in “OneDrive for Business”

The document will be save in the Cloud (not on the local machine), the file status is “Cloud only”

attempt 2 Word

NGSC settings Office: activated
Word: save a document in “OneDrive for Business”

The document will be save local, synced to the cloud, the file status is “synced locally”.


Copy and Move of files in Windows Explorer

Has nothing to do with the Office switch in the settings of the Next Generation Sync Client (OneDrive.exe), but I found some interesting things, during some copy and move actions in Windows Explorer:

Files on-Demand Cloud Only Source: A folder, which is only available in the Cloud
Destination: A folder, which is only available in the Cloud
ODFB OneDrive for Business
OD OneDrive Personal
SPOnline Document library in SharePoint Online (Teamsites, Groups)
Condition Source Condition and icon after copy/move actions on Source
Condition Destination Condition and icon after copy/move action on destination

 

Action Source Destination Condition source Condition dest.
1- Copy File in
ODFB / OD
Cloud Only in ODFB /OD

Files on-Demand Local available

Files on-Demand Local available

2- Copy File in
ODFB /OD
Cloud Only in
SPOnline

Files on-Demand Local available

Files on-Demand Local available

3- Move File in
ODFB /OD
Cloud Only in
ODFB / OD

Files on-Demand Cloud Only

4- Move File in
ODFB /OD
Cloud Only in
SpOnline

Files on-Demand Local available

We see, there is an exception on Action 3. Move within a SharePoint Site collection, f.e move a file from one folder in OneDrive for Business to another folder in OneDrive for Business. So the action will be transported with the Next Generation Sync Client to the cloud, no local sync will be done. If you do a move action between different site collections (from one folder inside a group) into another folder in another group,it must first be synced to the local device (down) and the synced to the new destination (up).

Advertisements
  1. Es gibt noch keine Kommentare.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Kommentar verfassen

Trage deine Daten unten ein oder klicke ein Icon um dich einzuloggen:

WordPress.com-Logo

Du kommentierst mit Deinem WordPress.com-Konto. Abmelden / Ändern )

Twitter-Bild

Du kommentierst mit Deinem Twitter-Konto. Abmelden / Ändern )

Facebook-Foto

Du kommentierst mit Deinem Facebook-Konto. Abmelden / Ändern )

Google+ Foto

Du kommentierst mit Deinem Google+-Konto. Abmelden / Ändern )

Verbinde mit %s

%d Bloggern gefällt das: