Archiv

Posts Tagged ‘shared with me’

OneDrive for Business | Local Sync of ‘Shared with me’ files

26. Dezember 2016 4 Kommentare

OneDrive for Business, Microsoft

if you have installed Version 17.3.6674.1021 or higher of the Next Generation Sync Client , first look for the blog post below,

OneDrive for Business | Next Generation Sync Client (all Versions)
Office 365 | OneDrive for Business, Team Sites and Groups – Overview
OneDrive for Business | new Version 17.3.6743.1212
Naming Convention in Explorer with the Next Generation Sync Client

then you are able to sync “Shared with me” to your local device. Here some pictures, which describe, how to do that.

So the pictures are from a German language tenant

Shared With Me 1. Navigate to your OneDrive (for Business) in Office 365

Dateien = Files
Mit mir geteit = Shared with Me

2. Click on “Shared with Me”
in this example the User Julian Versuch has shared in his OneDrive (for Business) the folderIgnite Demo JV” with me

Files and Folders  "Shared with Me"

4. Click on Sync  (Synchronisieren) *

Sync to local device

You should do initiate the first Synchronization exact, as Microsoft has described here.
If you open your Windows Explorer after the Synch, it looks like:

 

Windows Explorer: Shared withn me local sync

You see a new Icon (like SharePoint) and the icon-name is only the Tenant Name (without OneDrive)

In the picture you see some folders:

  • team sites (Finance, Marketing I)
  • groups (Group marketing)
  • and Shared with me Folders (Julian Versuch)

*) I have published this article first in German language end of November.  People ask me, They do not see the Sync-Button. And Yes it could be happen: Reason?

If a user shares only a file with you, there is no possibility to sync this file. The User have to create a folder and have to copy or move the file into it. Then the user may share the folder with you. And then you are able to sync the folder.

Asking the Microsoft product group about ‘Syncing a shared with Me File only’… “This feature is not on our deployment timeline, we won’t  have it in the near future”

new functions and features

Did you know, there is a channel where You are put your wishes for OneDrive and OneDrive for Businss, called UserVoice Kanal von OneDrive  and you see, there is feedback from Microsoft.

UserVoice Channel OneDrive

 

I have voted with UserVoice for a better documentation for the Next Generation Snyc Client. If you like this idea, you may vote too.

Naming Convention in Explorer with the Next Generation Sync Client

12. Oktober 2016 10 Kommentare

Syncing to OneDrive, OneDrive for Business, team sites, groups and Shared with me data with the Next Generation Sync Client

If you use the Preview Version of the Next Generation Sync Client, you also should be familiar with the Naming Convention in the Windows Explorer. All pictures are made with the Preview Version 17.3.6642.0922 of the NGSC. (If you want to install this version, read here)

But you must note, that all changes, you will do in Office 365, like renaming the tenant name or team sites or Groups do not reflect in the Windows Explorer. Microsoft needs to improve. But as mentioned, it’s a preview.

Keep in mind:

OneDrive (Personal) is represented in the notification area with a white cloud symbol, all other (OneDrive for Business, Teamsites, Groups and Shared with Me) are represented with a blue cloud symbol. Many of you will only see two cloud symbols. And if you sync data with the old Groove client, you will have another blue cloud symbol. There is an easy way to look, which cloud symbol belongs to which sync client. You may read here.

With the the Next Generation Sync Client you may sync files with one(!) OneDrive (Personal), but also with data from an Office 365 tenant. Additional you may, if the admins allow that, sync data to other tenants. So for each tenant you will have at least one blue cloud symbol.

So lets go into deep for the naming convention:

OneDriveTenant-Name

This is for all synced data with OneDrive for Business

With OneDrive (Personal) the tenant name is replaced with the word “Personal”

Tenant-Name if you have only the tenant name you see inside all synced data form team sites, Groups and data “Shared with me

the next picture will show an example:

Two Tenants and one OneDrive (Personal) 1) OneDrive (Personal)

2) OneDrive for Business Tenant Hbsoft

3) OneDrive for Business Tenant BitTitan

4) Team-Sites, Groups und Shared with me data form the Tenant Hbsoft

If you drill down number 4…

Teamsites, Groups and Shared with Me synced data folder structure at this time, you do not see, where the data comes from.

Finance: Team-Website

Group Marketing: Group
(I have given this group name “Group Marketing” during the creating process, but normally users will not do that!)

Julian Versuch… : Shared with me synced data (from User Julian Versuch)

Marketing I: Team Website

Conclusion

If you change f.e. the Name of a group or a Team-Website, there is no reflection in the Explorer. As an workaround you have to “unlink this PC” or “End of Sync” , delete the data on your local machine and start the sync process again. And I know, that’s not a practical solution, if you have a lot of data. But let’s give Microsoft a change until the global availability of the final version.

SkyDrive Pro | jetzt mehr Speicher verfügbar | Versionierung

28. August 2013 3 Kommentare

SkyDrive Pro, Speicher, Limitierung,

es sind 4 Wochen vergangen. Und pünktlich hat Microsoft gestern veröffentlicht, das sich Benutzer von Office 365 nicht länger mit Speicherproblemen bei SkyDrive Pro beschäftigen müssen.

Speicher

Bisher hatte man 7 GB Speicher zur Verfügung (genau wie bei SkyDrive) , aber eine Möglichkeit, das Volumen zu erhöhen war nur beim kleinen Bruder möglich. Doch das hat sich jetzt geändert

Jeder Office 365 Benutzer erhält nun 25 GB Speicher für SkyDrive Pro.

Die Berechnung des Speicher setzt sich wie folgt zusammen:

SkyDrive Pro Speicher

25 GB

E-Mail Speicher

25 GB

für jede erstellte Site-Mail Box

5 GB

+ Tenant Speicher

10 GB + 500 MB x # Benutzer

Dieser Speicher kann vom Administrator für einzelne Benutzer auf 50 oder 100 GB erhöht werden. Die 100 GB Speicherplatz sind auch das derzeitige Limit für einen Benutzer bei SkyDrive Pro.

Speicher Management Office 365

Der Administrator hat außerdem die Möglichkeit, zusätzlichen Speicher käuflich zu erwerben.
Wie das im einzelnen geht, hat Microsoft (bisher leider nur in englischer Sprache) hier beschrieben.

 

Für mich freigegeben

Und ein weiteres Feature hat Microsoft mit “Für mich freigegeben” eingebaut.

Szenario:

Ein Firmenkollege Kollegen möchte mit mir ein Dokument teilen. Dann erhalte ich einen Link zu diesem Dokument in meinem Postfach.

Will ich nach Tagen auf dieses Dokument zugreifen, dann musste ich mich in Outlook auf die Suche begeben,….

Dem ist jetzt nicht mehr so. Unter dem Link “SkyDrive” verbirgt sich ja die “alte” MySite. Dort speichere ich meine persönlichen Dokumente. Und in der Navigation auf der linken Seite finden wir jetzt “Für mich freigegeben”.

Mit einem Klick werden mir alle Dokumente aufgelistet, die mit mir geteilt wurden. Dabei ist es unerheblich, wo sich diese Dokumente  im Original befinden. Das kann ein beliebiger SkyDrive Pro Speicherort sein oder aber auch von einer Dokumentenbibliothek einer Team-Site kommen.

Ich als Benutzer bekomme die Rechte, die der Benutzer mir beim Teilen gegeben hat. Ich kann diese Dokumente anzeigen, bearbeiten oder herunterladen.

SkyDrive Pro: für mich freigegeben

Upload,Papierkorb und Versionierung

Egal, ob über den Browser oder über SkyDrive Pro, das Limit beim Upload ist jetzt überall gleich: 2 GB pro Datei

Sollten Sie eine Date versehentlich löschen, dann wird diese auf der Server-Seite in den Papierkorb verschoben. Automatisch. Bisher war die Zeit, die dieses Dokument im Papierkorb verblieb bei 30 Tagen.  Viele Benutzer haben sich gewünscht, dass diese Zeit erhöht wird. Und Microsoft hat auf die Benutzer gehört: Jetzt verbleibt das gelöschte Dokument 90 Tage im Papierkorb.

Für neu erzeugte Dokumenten Bibliotheken wird jetzt auch automatisch eine Versionierung mit 10 Ebenen angelegt. Auch das kennen wir natürlich von SharePoint Server , wenn der Administrator es eingeschaltet hat. Oder von SkyDrive, dort sind es für Office-Dokumente sogar 25 Ebenen.

Fazit:

Tolle neue Möglichkeiten, die mir Zeit sparen, um noch effektiver mit Firmen-Dokumenten  umzugehen.

%d Bloggern gefällt das: